Uncategorized

10 Reasons why you should read This Shattered World by @MeaganSpooner and @AmieKaufman

This Shattered World is the second book in the Starbound trilogy. The first is These Broken Stars. This_Shattered_WorldJubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

Reasons Why You Should Read This Shattered World:

1. In this case, judge the book by its cover. Beauty on the outside = beauty on the inside. Besides, there’s a nebula. Always read a book with a nebula on the cover.

2. Even though the main characters are not Tarver and Lilac, they still make an appearance. We get to see what happened to them.

3. There’s a much more political and militaristic feel in this book. Survivial takes on a different meaning when it’s steeped in war.

4. I loved how the rebels had an Irish ancestry and how their culture still influenced them, even though Ireland is far far gone.

5. The setting: A world where every non-native goes mad with bloodlust. A world full of swamps and mysterious floating will-o’-the-wisps. A world so clouded and gray nobody can see the stars.

6. Flynn—Tell me you can’t read Flynn’s name without picturing Disney’s Flynn Ryder. Picture that hotness with a compassionate, pacifist, dreaming soul (“I had a dreeeeeam”) and tell me you’re not in love. I appreciated his love for his people, the rebels, but also his willingness to take risks for his dream of freedom for Avon.

7. Did I mention Flynn?

8. Jubilee—she’s a bit like June from Marie Lu’s Legend. Unbreakable. Smart. Respected. A leader. With a touch of the romantic side. And a willingness to do whatever it takes to set things right.

9. The two books’ plot do connect. With plenty of twists and turns in between that’ll keep you guessing until the end.

10. Like Tarver’s interview snippets placed in between chapters in These Broken Stars, This Shattered World also has interesting tidbits between each chapter. And, like TBS, you won’t know what it means until the end.

Check out the website for These Broken Stars here.
Check out Amie Kaufman’s website here.
Like Amie Kaufman on Facebook here.
Follow @AmieKaufman on Twitter here.
Check out Meagan Spooner’s website here.
Like Meagan Spooner on Facebook here.
Follow @MeaganSpooner on Twitter here.

2 thoughts on “10 Reasons why you should read This Shattered World by @MeaganSpooner and @AmieKaufman”

  1. I admit, I half-skimmed this at first, cringing because I was worried about spoilers. THEN I read it for real. Thank you for not giving anything big away! I have the book on my Kindle, and I am DYING to read it, but at the same time once I read it, I know I’ll go through it fast and then it will be over. *sob* So I’m delaying the gratification, though I don’t know how much longer I can hold out. Glad you loved it!

    1. you’re so welcome! I HATE spoilers–I was trying to figure out how to comment on it without giving away all the good stuff that surprised me :) Right?? I wish the 3rd was already out so I could pounce on it so the gratification wouldn’t have to end. Hope you love it too! Let me know what you think :)

Leave a Reply

