Art/Creativity

X: is for Xanthan Gum #AtoZBlogging

XLAST THREE LETTER STRETCH!! I have never been happier to round this last corner. I’m slumped against my kitchen counter after a successful Pikes Peak Writers Conference (I had a pun that rhymed with an inappropriate word to spruce up that sentence, but I’m so tired and got distracted by the rhymed word I forgot the pun. This is what happens when you cram a bunch of writers together for three days.)

Anyway.

Deer_on_Yupo
This is my version of artist Jody Omeara’s work. I wanted to try her technique.

X is for xanthan gum. Xanthan gum is a key ingredient in creating watercolor paints. The gum keeps the paint thick while in the tube, but then dissolves in water, leaving only pigment/color on the paper. Some paint companies substitute other binders in place of xanthan gum, such as honey. Either way, without a binder, we wouldn’t be able to do paint the deer I did above.

Xanthan gum is also used as a substitute in gluten-free baking and in toothpaste. I interpret this as saying you may be brushing your teeth with my watercolor paints. I personally think ultramarine blue would look fabulous as a tooth color.

 

11 thoughts on “X: is for Xanthan Gum #AtoZBlogging”

  1. Abby! I love reading your blog and getting into your mind. :) Sorry that’s a creepy way to put it. But I was nominated for the Liebster award as a way to promote my blog, and I wanted to pass the torch to you. To learn more about the requirements if you decide to accept the ‘award’, refer to my recent post-http://wp.me/s2B4nr-liebster. I love you Abby!

  2. Hey Abby!

    Beautiful water color. It was great connecting with you at Pikes Peak Writer’s conference. I look forward to snagging your novel after it’s published and hunting you down for a signing. I hope we can keep in touch!

    Love the A to Z idea.

    Take Care!
    Lori

    1. Hi Lori! I totally agree- it was so good talking and getting to know you :) I’d LOVE to stay in touch! Hope you have a great rest of your week and words flow from your fingers so fast you almost don’t know what to do with them :) sending hugs!

  3. I absolutely love your paintings – one thing I wish I could do is paint (or even draw halfway decently). But as I can’t I stick to words. I confess to envying your ability to combine both…

    1. Awe :) I have an inner belief everybody can do art at least a little bit. But sometimes life pressures and society pushes the ability way way deep so we can’t access it anymore. I think you should try it (there’s a lot of good books out there with great instructions!)… You never know what’s buried inside!

      1. What a great way to look at it – I really like that concept of the ability having been subjugated by other things, but just waiting to be unlocked again. Maybe I’ll give it another go. At the worst I can call it abstract and tell people they don’t understand :)

Leave a Reply

