Uncategorized

Why you should enter pitch contests.

Anyone who as a polished manuscript looking for a home…It’s not too late to join the Twitter pitch party #Pitmad!

Aussie Writers

I am a HUGE fan of Pitch Contests. Even though I actually have ended up on the hosting and judging side more than I have as an entrant. But I see some amazing things happen for writers. So here’s my top five reasons why you should enter pitch contests in your search for an agent or editor:

  1. You are amongst a smaller field: If you make it through the cut-off/slush, you are usually amongst a smaller group of pitches than if you were sitting in the agents regular query slush. 
  2. You can be connected to agents you hadn’t thought about querying: There are a lot of agents out there. Researching can be long and time-consuming. Some blogs are out-of-date with their agent information and even agency sites may not have enough information on it for you to determine if you and the agent are a correct match. You could end…

View original post 305 more words

3 thoughts on “Why you should enter pitch contests.”

  1. I love pitmad! I entered one year, with a different manuscript, and got nothing, but the whole experience was fun and challenging. It’s a great way to muster support and read the amazing work other people are doing and you learn a lot, too. Especially about how to write an awesome pitch and helpful tips on social media do’s and don’ts.

    1. so true! I love looking at all the different pitches and going, “Aw man, I wish I wrote that!” And then I secretly bookmark them and stalk them so I can buy them later when they come out :)

Leave a Reply

